RSS

Oscars Special: Beef Wellington

27 Feb
  • Food: Beef Wellington
  • Ingredients: 4 cuts of beef, shallots, mushrooms, crepes, puff pastry, salt, and pepper
  • Prep time: 30 minutes
  • Cook time: 1 hour (30 minutes per part)

I promise we did not steal a picture from Wikepedia, this is OUR food!

Just in case you are unaware, this Sunday was the most important day of the year – OSCARS SUNDAY.  This Sunday beats all others.  Thats right, I claim that it is better than Super Bowl Sunday, Easter Sunday, and that rare time when your birthday falls on a Sunday – Sunday. This occasion transcends sports, religion, and birthdays – its all about the movies.

Just in case you were wondering…this is my favorite acceptance speech of all time 🙂

That would be me, except my voice would probably crack more and I would definitely be jumping the entire time!

Anyway, Kelly and I thought it would be fun to make a special Oscars-themed meal!  What does that mean?  We aren’t actually sure either.  Because a number of the nominated movies were set in France or England (yay Meryl Streep!), we decided it meant something from Europe.  Bob (my roommate) suggested Beef Wellington, or Beef En-Croute.  This is both a traditional English and French meal – check out wikepedia!

Here is the wikipedia picture (just in case you don’t want to click away from our blog – we totally understand that our page is far too interesting to leave).

You decide whose looks more appetizing!

First, you start by using kitchen twine to tie your meat.  Neither Kelly or I know why you are supposed to do this.  We assume it is to make it stay in a tight shape, so wrapping it in pastry later is easier.  Either that or to make your meat look fancy.

If I told you to think of beef in a straight jacket, is this what would come to mind?

Next, you sear the meat in a frying pan.  Make sure the oil is nice and hot, then put each strip in only long enough to brown the outside.  You don’t want to cook it all the way through!

After searing the meat, coat the strips with oil and bake in the oven for about 10 minutes at 425 degrees.  About every 5-7 minutes, make sure to add more oil to the meat.

Our hand models are a little pale. However, it is February, so we allow it.

Once the meat is done cooking.  Take it out of the oven and set aside to cool.  Next, you are supposed to do about 20 things at once, and by 20 I mean two.  It only feels like 20 because we are not used to cooking meals with so many moving parts!

The next step is to make something to top the meat with.  Kelly and I chose mushrooms and shallots (parents, please don’t die of shock – yes, I actually ate them and didn’t pick them off!!).  Kelly thought it would be a good idea for me to act like Rachel Ray and explain this process.

Once you are done sauteing the topping, set it aside to cool.  The next step is to make crepes – something Kelly turned out to have natural talent at making.  I think she may leave our blog to become a famous crepe maker.  (Trust me, we will all miss her if this happens because she is the one that keeps each week’s meal from turning into hot dogs and toasters strudel.)

I don't think the photo quite captures the natural beauty of a Kelly Crepe (name trademarked by Kelly)

Once the magnificent crepes (am I over emphasizing how amazing these crepes were?) are done, you top the meat with the onions and shallots, roll them in a crepe, then roll everything in a puff pastry.  Sounds ridiculously complicated?  Yeah, that would be because it is super fancy and awesome.  I’ve decided that once you have cooked something stuffed inside a crepe, inside a pastry…you are a real chef!

Step one: DON'T FORGET TO REMOVE THE TWINE...moron (that was my bad...)

Okay, apparently you are only a real chef if you remember to remove the twine you tied on your meat.  Spoiler: I did eventually remember – I just happened to remember after I had already begun rolling the pastry.  However, Kelly caught my mistake in time.  Seriously, if this Kelly Crepe thing takes off, I’m in trouble.

I understand it looks a little silly, but that is because all crazy advanced cooking techniques look silly to the untrained eye

Once rolled, do fancy things with the extra puff pastry and brush on an egg wash.

The triple X in the middle shows we mean business!

After baking for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, you reduce the temperature to 350 and cook until the pastry is a nice golden brown.  At the last minute, we decided to add some potatoes (of course!).

A meal worthy of this spectacular night - possibly even worthy of Meryl

Our friend Liz joined us to eat our amazing meal and watch the Oscars! (She also kicked our butts in Oscars BINGO and ballots – she may not be invited next year…)

That's right, we got swanky!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Dinner, Sunday meal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Oscars Special: Beef Wellington

  1. homemade delish

    March 6, 2012 at 7:49 am

    This is one thing I have not tried to make yet..Beef Wellington…I might have to try it this weekend

     

Leave a Reply

 
