RSS

Sauerkraut and Pork: Guten Tag!

30 Jan
  • Food: Sauerkraut and Pork
  • Ingredients: 1 package of sauerkraut and a half pound of pork loin
  • Prep time: half hour to cut and brown meat
  • Cook time: 5-8 hours in a crock pot

When I was a kid, I was a ridiculously picky eater.  Truth time…not much has changed.  I am deathly afraid of flavor.  I like my food bland with just a hint of butter and salt.  So far, the food we have made for this blog hasn’t really challenged my taste buds all that much.  Plus, as a bonus, they always seem to feature my two favorite food groups: meat and potatoes.  This week is no different – except, I think this weeks meal adds a little FLAVOR!  I could be wrong, but one reason a large percentage of people don’t particularly like sauerkraut (Kelly) is because they can’t stand the very prominent flavor of “finely shredded cabbage that has been fermented by various lactic acid bacteria”…aka, yum (thanks Wikipedia!).  As surprising as it sounds, this has always been one of my favorite meals!

Something I didn’t know as a kid, and was pleasantly surprised to discover as an adult – sauerkraut is amazingly easy to make!

I feel like there should be a German Flag on the cover of that crock pot

First step: cut the meat into manageable strips/chunks.

Yum

Step 2: Brown in a pan with a little oil.

This picture looks ever slightly more appetizing

Step 3: Put package of sauerkraut, browned meat, and a little bit of water (I did 1/2 cup) into a crock pot.

You know you are an adult when - you cook a meal in a crock pot!

Cook for 5-8 hours occasionally stirring and checking to make sure there is enough water in the pot.  Enough water in this case means an amount that is sufficient in preventing the sauerkraut from burning to the pot.

Now, I don’t know if you know this, dear reader (aka mom and dad), but sauerkraut kinda smells.  It has a very pungent odor that roommates may not be super jazzed about.  Though I do love me some sauerkraut, the smell can get overwhelming.  Trying to be a decent roommate and mask the smell of the kraut, I decided to bake chocolate chip cookies!  Also, it was Sunday, no one was home, and I was extremely bored.

My goal is to have this recipe memorized at some point in my life!

Now, I have told you that I am a pretty awful cook – that is the whole point of this blog.  However, I absolutely love baking and always have. Unfortunately, baking tends to be good for the soul but bad for the waist line!

Anyway, after baking some delicious cookies and having mild success covering up the sauerkraut smell, about 30 minutes before I was going to eat, I sliced up some potatoes (of course!) and boiled them for about 15-20 minutes.

I added the spoon to make the picture more artsy. I think it might be necessary to start having someone who is actually talented take these pictures from now on...

Once my potatoes were done, I enjoyed my delicious meal!

mmmmmmmm butter and lactic acid bacteria fermented cabbage, my two favorite additions to any meal!

Before I go, I have three small confessions this week.

  1. Yes, I ate like 5 cookies BEFORE I had dinner…I just couldn’t wait.  I am only human after all!
  2. I didn’t make a the usual huge amount of sauerkraut to last the whole week in lunch and dinner left overs.  There is only enough for about 4 more dinners.  Though I do love me some sauerkraut, I cannot eat that much of it!  I am only about 1/2 German – only true German’s could handle that much rotted cabbage!
  3. I miss Kelly!!

P.S.  Since I never made a final leftover post for the beef stew, I thought I would add a little section here.  The plain leftovers were amazing!  I thoroughly enjoyed them with a little How I Met Your Mother on the side!!

Yes Barney, it was legend...wait for it...dary! Legendary beef stew leftovers!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Dinner, Sunday meal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Sauerkraut and Pork: Guten Tag!

  1. Kristen Pinkham

    February 1, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    This looks great! I just got a crock pot and am always on the hunt for good recipes!

     
  2. TheLittleDesignStall

    February 2, 2012 at 7:36 am

    I LOVE Sauerkraut or Surkål that we call it in Norway! We norwegians eat it all the time, with our potatoes 🙂

     
    • 2girls10potatoes

      February 3, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      I went to a Norwegian college and had no idea it was a Norwegian dish! Everything is better with potatoes!

       
  3. Rita

    February 2, 2012 at 11:50 am

    So roommates don’t like the smell of sauerkraut! I did think of that and thought maybe you should burn a candle but only if you’re going to be home while the crockpot cooks 🙂

    I think I’ll buy some sauerkraut and pork and copy your delicious meal!!

     
  4. Mari Posa

    February 3, 2012 at 2:05 am

    glad to see you’re venturing into the kitchen! maybe one day i’ll get you eating real food 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
