RSS

Kropkakker Nachos

18 Jan
  • Food:Krub Nachos
  • Ingredients: leftover krubs, butter, shredded cheese
  • Prep time: 5 minutes
  • Cooking time: 15 minutes
I got creative tonight and turned my leftover krubs into nachos. It was easy and delicious and might have made me gain 100 lbs.

First, I sliced two krubs and fried them with some butter. You might notice a few fire hazards in the pictures below… the outlet above the stove is the only one I can plug my space heater into without shorting out the power in half my apartment. Don’t worry, I try to make sure the cords don’t melt too much while I’m cooking.

Once fried, I spread the krubs on a greased baking sheet and sprinkled with grated cheese and some leftover pork (the same pork that was used to stuff the krubs). I used Whole Foods shredded monterey jack and cheddar, but I am sure any cheese would do. I was tempted to use up the rest of my manchego; but decided it was too fancy for nachos and I would rather eat it with a glass of wine and feel sophisticated.

I baked the krub/nacho concotion on the top oven rack at 350 degrees just until the cheese melted (about 5 minutes).

It turned out surprisingly well! Really, how can you go wrong melting cheese on fried potatoes? It was nice to have a savory alternative to the maple syrup version.

Milo liked them, too–but he prefers sardines. You can’t please everyone!

Anyone have ideas for a creative way to use my leftover krubs tomorrow?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in Dinner, Leftovers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
